2010-11 Predictions: How did I do?

Back in October, I posted my predictions for the 2010-11 seasonf for each of the 30 NBA teams.   Now that the season is over, it’s time to see how I did.

Here’s a chart showing my predictions, as well as some predictions made in this post over at Blazer’s Edge.  Just for fun, I also included the predictions made by Bill Simmons of ESPN.   To evaluate these predictions, I simply took the difference between the actual number of wins and the predicted number of wins for each team.   Here’s a chart showing the results.

In the end, only Bill Simmons beat me – and he only was 2 ‘points’ better than me.  The overall rankings, showing how many wins off each predictor was, as well as the best and worst prediction for each:

Bill Simmons – 172  (Best pick – Indiana, Worst – Philadelphia)

Me – 174 (Best pick – LA Lakers, Worst – Milwaukee)

thomasikehara – 179 (Best pick – LA Lakers, Worst – Sacramento)

amlmart1 – 181 (Best pick – Golden State & Houston, Worst – Milwaukee and San Antonio)

KnightBlazer – 185 (Best pick – Golden State, Worst – Milwaukee)

jksnake 99 – 186 (Best pick – Atlanta & New York & Houston & Phoenix & Golden State, Worst – Chicago)

BendTenor – 204 (Best pick – New Orleans, Worst – Milwaukee)

MadBlaze – 206 (Best pick – Sacramento, Worst – Denver)

billsfan4life – 208 (Best pick – New Jersey & New Orleans, Worst – Chicago & Philadelphia)

Overall, I feel pretty good about my predictions.  I did much better in predicting the Western Conference than the Eastern Conference, so I probably need to research the East more extensively next time.   It would have been nice to beat Mr. Simmons, but again, it gives me something to work towards next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Predictions

Leave a Reply

